Skip to main content
Topic: Brake controller for toad (Read 1115 times) previous topic - next topic

Brake controller for toad

Yahoo Message Number: 14727
My husband is a newbie to RVing. I'm a newbie to a toad. He wants to pull our Tahoe, like in photo at top of the Super C RV Group page. I told him we need one of those brake controllers that attaches in the road. He said we don't. We have a brake controller in RV for pulling a trailer. How do I convince home we need one of the controllers in the toad? What are some reasons for having one?

Also, what's the best tow bar to get for pulling such a vehicle. I've read that one with adjustable arms while towing is the kind to get. Thoughts?

Thanks,
Denise

Re: Brake controller for toad

Reply #1
Yahoo Message Number: 14729
That was my MH and Tahoe LTZ in the photo on our page. You definitely need a braking system for the Tahoe. We used a Brake Buddy, which we acquired for our first toad - a Colorado. I many states and provinces I believe you might be in violation of the law without supplemental braking for your toad. Somewhere on the web (I haven't looked at it for several years but it is updated annually) there is a schedule that covers all states and Canadian provinces and their rules for towing and braking.

While the Brake Buddy does the job, if I were starting from scratch I'd go for one of the units that is effectively a permanent installation so you don't have to continually take it and and re-install it. Several members of the group have them and you should get a lot of feedback in the next 24 hours.

Don

Reply #2
Yahoo Message Number: 14730
I use road master invisibrake. Permanent mount works great. I think in ca. If ur toad weighs 5000 lbs or more its law. So if ur are in an accident u better have one. Adjustable tow bar arms make it an easy hook up.

Larry Payne  ⛳

Reply #3
Yahoo Message Number: 14731