Skip to main content
Topic: Car Dolly Question (Read 494 times) previous topic - next topic

Car Dolly Question

Yahoo Message Number: 8675
Well, I'm still wrestling with the car dolly that came with our Kodiak and trying to decide what to do about it. The problem - our toad is too wide and the fenders of the dolly bang against the car when turning. It looks like I could reduce or eliminate the pivot of the dolly and it might solve the issue. I'm concerned that there may need to be some pivot on the dolly or it wouldn't pivot in the first place? Other option to sell the dolly and go with a flat bed car hauler and haul the toad off the ground altogehter. I would like to get the dolly operational if possible 'cause it's paid for, easy to store, and doesn't need to be licensed. Any thoughts on the "pivotal" question regarding the dolly? Thanks gang!

Re: Car Dolly Question

Reply #1
Yahoo Message Number: 8676

I have no experience with a dolly as I tow flat, a Chevy Suburban and a Honda CRV.

Roger

Reply #2
Yahoo Message Number: 8677
My 2c

I had a love for AWD vehicles - Subaru, Lexus, ....

BUT The extra weight for 4 wheels up is HUGE when I looked. Disconnects looked intrusive and expensive.

This is a long term thing for me and I just decided that 4 wheels down was better and ... I got rid of two AWD vehicles and went with a single compromise that can be towed 4 wheels down. Even was lucky and got a used unit that was already modified to be towed (I wanted blue Ox but it was already done with Roadmaster.)

Tough at the time, but it all worked out great.

I bet in the end it is cheaper and less wear on everything else. Fuel, breaks, ... If you stick with the dolly and get the problem fixed, you will still have issue with sway and alignment. If you go four up you have weight and cost of the trailer. Where to stow it...Campground issues...

Good luck on your decision.

Kevin
Kevin (Real) McCoy [KF5FUZ / WQJE447]