Skip to main content
Topic: True GCWR? (Read 630 times) previous topic - next topic

True GCWR?

Yahoo Message Number: 13531
Hello all,

Just closed on our first RV on Saturday and we bought a 2004 Gulfstream 6340. We are really excited, so expect more questions from a total newbie.

On the wall in the cabinet above the kitchen sink, the GCWR is listed at 29,000-lbs via a Gulfstream sticker, but on the GM door sticker on the truck it is listed as 26,000-lbs. I'm assuming the GM sticker is correct but I wanted to make sure. Eventually, I will be towing a 28' racecar trailer that should tickle the 7500-lb range. Btw, it is a 8.1 gasser rig.

Thanks,
Greg

Re: True GCWR?

Reply #1
Yahoo Message Number: 13532
The door sticker is probably GVWR, which is gross vehicle weight rating, and the GCWR is gross combined weight rating. GVWR is the vehicle max by itself, GCWR includes all weight vehicle and trailer.

The mfr keeps GVWR below 26000 lbs so no special license is required. Depending on your state you might get a non-commercial CDL endorsement for weight over 26000 on your license. Then never a problem if a law enforcement is worried about being over 26000 GCWR.

Now in your case, doubtful you will have the vehicle loaded to full 26000, and a 28 ft enclosed trailer is certainly going to be around your estimated 7500, so doing some math, 29000 - 7500 = 22500 for vehicle.

Reply #2
Yahoo Message Number: 13533
The 2004 Endura 6340 is rated at 26,000 lbs. If you are going to be pulling a 7,500 lbs trailer I would recommend you put 245 G rated tires on your motorhome. Getting your motorhome weighed will be a good thing. When I weighed mine. I was overweight by 500lbs on the rear axle. If you have water in the fresh water tank and your trailer on hitch you may be overweight by 1500 + lbs. This also takes weight off front axle. Causing bad handling.
Best
Ron Hall

Reply #3
Yahoo Message Number: 13534
Thanks for the replys!